Alexander Zverev has been the chief of the kids' cost within the final couple of years, changing into the primary teenager with an ATP title in eight years and successful 9 titles to date general, together with three Masters 1000 crowns. In 2017, promising German managed to complete the 12 months within the High four and he repeated that within the present season, standing behind Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer after successful 57 matches to date and lifting three ATP titles. Competing at his second ATP Finals, Alexander has managed to go the spherical robin stage after beating John Isner and Marin Cilic and he went a step additional following an exciting 7-5 7-6 overcome Roger Federer for his greatest ultimate in a profession the place he’ll face Novak Djokovic on Sunday! 

On the age of 21, Alexander is the youngest participant within the title match on the ATP Finals since Juan Martin del Potro in 2009 and he enters a particular record the 11th U21 participant who did so within the historical past of this occasion! As we already mentioned in our piece about Zverev's achievement after reaching the semis, it takes one thing particular from the younger gun to safe the place on the elite ATP occasion at first place after which to battle towards different greatest gamers on the planet and go the primary impediment generally known as the spherical robin stage. 25 U21 gamers have been capable of advance into the final 4 and solely 11 of them have solved the semi-final riddle to guide the place within the ultimate of one of many greatest occasions of the season. 

It began in 1975 when Bjorn Borg secured the place within the ultimate of the ATP Finals, successful simply 5 video games towards Ilie Nastase who claimed his fourth title at this occasion within the final 5 years to depart a youngster empty-handed. Two years later, the Swede was within the ultimate once more and this time he misplaced to Jimmy Connors in straight units and 12 months later we might discover one other teenager within the ATP Finals title match when John McEnroe received the title. In 1980 and 1981, Ivan Lendl was the finalist on the Madison Sq. Backyard to open his domination at this occasion in the course of the 80's, shedding to Bjorn Borg in 1980 earlier than edging Vitas Gerulaitis from two units to like down in 1981 and grow to be a champion. 


In 1985, Boris Becker had a breakthrough run on the Tour and he had grow to be the youngest participant within the ATP Finals title match on the age of 18. The younger German was crushed by Ivan Lendl within the ultimate in 1985 and 1986 earlier than he prevailed towards the Czech in 1988 in what has been probably the most thrilling finals of this occasion within the final 5 a long time, becoming a member of McEnroe and Lendl among the many youngest ATP Finals champions. Andre Agassi claimed the title in 1990 on the age of 20, his first and solely at this match and his compatriot Pete Sampras repeated that feat a 12 months later towards Jim Courier within the first and solely all-U21 ATP Finals title match! 

We needed to look forward to 10 years to see one other teenager within the ultimate, with Lleyton Hewitt lifting the trophy in 2001 and 2002 as the one U21 participant with two trophies from the elite ATP match! Six years later, Novak Djokovic claimed the title on the age of 21 and Juan Martin del Potro was within the title match a 12 months later, because the final teenager earlier than Alexander to hitch our record. Zverev has now joined 10 Grand Slam champions on this particular achievement (9 of them have received a number of Majors) and he’ll attempt to upend Novak Djokovic and grow to be solely the eighth U21 ATP Finals winner, the primary since Novak 10 years in the past! The record of U21 gamers within the ATP Finals title match:

2018 – Alexander Zverev 21
2009 – Juan Martin del Potro 21
2008 – Novak Djokovic 21
2002 – Lleyton Hewitt 21
2001 – Lleyton Hewitt 20
1991 – Jim Courier 21
1991 – Pete Sampras 20
1990 – Andre Agassi 20
1988 – Boris Becker 21
1986 – Boris Becker 19
1985 – Boris Becker 18
1981 – Ivan Lendl 21
1980 – Ivan Lendl 20
1978 – John McEnroe 19
1977 – Bjorn Borg 21
1975 – Bjorn Borg 19

Proceed studying…

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here